2019 Staff Awards of Excellence Announced

Top row, from left: Andrea Klassen, Andrew Calhoun, Deborah Buszard, Christine Squire and Derek Como. Bottom row, from left: Shannon Hohl, Bruce Mooney, Anthony Dodds, Alana Wright and Robin Whittall. (Missing: Samantha Larsen)

2019 Staff Awards of Excellence announced at DVC and Principal’s Town Hall

At the August Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal’s Town Hall, a number of employees were recognized for their outstanding service to the university at the annual Staff Awards of Excellence.

The awards are given to employees who exemplify one of five categories: Enhancing the UBC Experience, Leadership, Sustainability, Global Citizenship and Okanagan Campus Spirit.

Congratulations to this year’s winners.

Okanagan Campus Spirit

This year’s Okanagan Campus Spirit Award was presented to Resident Life Manager Samantha Larsen.

Samantha was recognized for changing the experience of our students living in residence through her work with the Sexual Violence Prevention and Response Office and her applied suicide intervention skills training. She was also recognized as a welcoming colleague that makes extra efforts to recognize personal milestones, professional achievements and build a positive workplace for other employees.

Enhancing the UBC Experience

This year’s Enhancing the UBC Experience Award was presented to Facilities Service Assistant Bruce Mooney and Administrative Assistant Shannon Hohl.

Bruce was nominated for his consistently caring, patient and reliable demeanour as well as his high level of professionalism. He is seen as a role model to others through his consistent professional and positive interactions.

Shannon received two nominations for her work with School of Engineering graduate students. Both nominations recognized her ability to connect with people through her great energy and friendliness, as well as her compassion to help those who are trying to navigate unfamiliar systems and environments.


This year’s Leadership Award was presented to Student Recruiter-Advisor Anthony Dodds.

Anthony was recognized for consistently setting the standard of quality for advising to counsellors and students, as well as knowledgeably representing the policies and practices of the university while advocating for the success of the student. He was also acknowledged for his service as a beloved coach and mentor to student staff, and the personal connections he’s made while working at UBCO.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal Award

This year’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal Award was presented to the Academic Advising team.

This award is typically awarded to an individual who exemplifies at least two of the Staff Awards of Excellence categories and who regularly goes above and beyond their job description duties in service of UBC, the Okanagan campus and the community at large.

This year it was determined that a team that works as one should be recognized instead.

Congratulations to Jessica Beck, Andrew Calhoun, Derek Como, Andrea Klassen, Breanne Molnar, Christine Squire, Robin Whittall, Alana Wright and Jamie Yamaoka.

This exceptional group is careful to take every opportunity to make meaningful connections with students and nurture positive relationships with a wide variety of campus partners.