Staff Awards of Excellence

2019 Staff Awards of Excellence announced at DVC and Principal’s Town Hall

At the August Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal’s Town Hall, a number of employees were recognized for their outstanding service to the university at the annual Staff Awards of Excellence.

The awards are given to employees who exemplify one of five categories: Enhancing the UBC Experience, Leadership, Sustainability, Global Citizenship and Okanagan Campus Spirit.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Top row, from left: Andrea Klassen, Andrew Calhoun, Deborah Buszard, Christine Squire and Derek Como.
Bottom row, from left: Shannon Hohl, Bruce Mooney, Anthony Dodds, Alana Wright and Robin Whittall (Missing: Samantha Larsen)

The Staff Awards of Excellence celebrate outstanding contributions instrumental in helping UBC’s Okanagan campus

achieve its strategic imperatives, and to contribute to the commitment to create an Outstanding Work Environment, by:

  • Recognizing initiative, talent, creativity and dedication that enrich the work experience for everyone at UBC, and
  • Strengthening recruitment and retention strategies to support UBC’s commitment to hiring the best faculty & staff.


Five (5) awards/categories of $2,000 per recipient. Up to four awards per year are offered each year in the following categories:

  • Enhancing the UBC Experience (Customer Service)
  • Leadership
  • Sustainability
  • Global Citizenship
  • Okanagan Campus Spirit

Please review the nomination checklist below for details on how to submit a nomination package.
SAE Awards Terms of Reference

Award Criteria

Enhancing the UBC Experience (Customer Service) is awarded to an individual or team who has accomplished some or all of the following:

  • Improved the value and efficiency of the services they provide
  • Maintained a consistently high quality of service to UBC Okanagan customers including faculty, staff, students and alumni
  • Anticipated clients’ needs and potential problems and acted to proactively resolve
  • Created new, cost-effective and/or innovative methods for performing day-to-day activities
  • Displayed exemplary problem-solving skills
  • Served as role models to others through openness to new ways of doing things and consistently positive interactions

Download Nomination Cover Letter and Appendix A [PDF]

Download Appendix B (Letter of Support) Template [PDF]

Leadership is awarded to an individual or team that accomplished some or all of the following:

  • Established and maintained exemplary and inclusive people practices
  • Provided a sense of purpose, vision and mission for their co-workers and/or staff
  • Positively influenced others to build consensus and action around departmental or organizational objectives
  • Managed and led change initiatives effectively
  • Achieved sustainable results
  • Invested time and effort in coaching and/or mentoring

Download Nomination Cover Letter and Appendix A [PDF]

Download Appendix B (Letter of Support) Template [PDF]

Sustainability is awarded to an individual or team that accomplished some or all of the following:

  • Demonstrated the application of UBC sustainability policy or plans in their actions, daily operations or activities on campus
  • Actively engaged their colleagues in demonstrated ways to support campus sustainability
  • Initiated a sustainability-related initiative or practice within the unit or department that has benefited day-to-day operations or the overall campus’ environmental footprint
  • Demonstrated involvement as a volunteer individual or team to help educate, create awareness or promote campus sustainability
  • Activities can be related to, but are not limited to the following – energy conservation practices, recycling and waste diversion practices, water conservation practices, sustainable purchasing practices, sustainable food choices and service delivery, sustainable accommodation operations, green meetings and events, paperless office initiatives, energy conservation practices

Download Nomination Cover Letter and Appendix A [PDF]

Download Appendix B (Letter of Support) Template [PDF]

Global Citizenship is awarded to an individual or team who accomplished some or all of the following:

  • Initiated and maintained sustainable, collaborative partnerships within UBC or with community, governmental, indigenous or other educational organizations
  • Demonstrated systems thinking and encouraged collaboration, sense-making and integration across campuses
  • Exemplified good citizenship through personal volunteerism or by helping to position UBC Okanagan as a good citizen in the wider world
  • Served as a mentor and/or model citizen to students, faculty, staff, or community members outside of UBC Okanagan

Download Nomination Cover Letter and Appendix A [PDF]

Download Appendix B (Letter of Support) Template [PDF]

Okanagan Campus Spirit is awarded to department colleagues or interdisciplinary group or committee members of five or more people, that have demonstrated the following:

  • Consistently demonstrates enthusiasm, dedication, perseverance and excellence in the face of challenge
  • Works collaboratively encouraging participation and openness while sharing ideas, responsibilities, skills, resources and credit across UBC
  • Promotes a positive work environment characterized by respect, support, trust and collegiality
  • Understanding of its role within UBC and uses an agreed-upon approach to achieve its mission or project outcome, and
  • Integrate effective meeting skills, problem solving tools, planning techniques and conflict resolution strategies to achieve directed results.

Download Nomination Cover Letter and Appendix A [PDF]

Download Appendix B (Letter of Support) Template [PDF]

Nomination Checklist


Individuals or team nominations require at least one regular, permanent staff member with a minimum of two years continuous service.


All UBC Okanagan employees and students may nominate candidates for an award. Either an individual or a team can be nominated; teams consist of two or more individuals.

Your completed award nomination package must include:

  • Nomination Cover Letter and Appendix A
    Rationale and background information on the individual or team nominees.
  • Letters of Support (Appendix B)
    A minimum of two (2) and maximum of five (5) support letters from colleagues and students, not including the nominator and nominee.


Chair, UBC Okanagan Staff Awards of Excellence Committee
c/o Human Resource Office

On behalf of the Committee, the Human Resources office will acknowledge receipt of the nomination package.

All information submitted will be kept strictly confidential.

Awards will be presented on August 29, 2019 at the Annual DVC Town Hall.

Nominators of the successful candidate(s) will be notified by the award committee and be invited, along with the nominee to attend the award ceremony.

Selection Committee

The Committee on the UBC Okanagan Staff Awards of Excellence is made up of representatives from Human Resources, Academic Leadership, the Okanagan Executive Team, BCGEU and AAPS. This Committee will administer, receive, evaluate and recommend the winners for each year.


If you have any questions about the nomination process or writing a letter of support, please contact Lisa Frost at 250.807.9021 or